Month: February 2014

  • Firsts This Year.

    Sometimes, when I start to create lists in my head,
    or say, “Guess what happened TODAY that has NEVER happened before?” I realize documentation has to occur.

    And, so, I think I should document these items.
    I really, really hope that these are all situations that have just oddly happened in one school year,
    and they are NOT caused by this “millenial” group of students who are supposedly entitled and spoiled and whatever.

    Not all of my students are “millenial-like.” Not all of them did these things below. I’m well-aware of that.
    But, yeah. I really, really hope these things do not happen again, basically.

    1. Student who logged into eCompanion & thought what I was showing them on there would magically pop up. No, um, you have to click on the “Projects” tab and … yeah. Click around, duh?
    2. Student who thought we’d meet in the same room we met for the fall semester… ?
    3. Online student who asked when the first paper was due, where the guide was for it, and did I have a student example? Um, did you bother to look through the online shell? It’s ALL THERE!
    4. Student who has a disability and didn’t go to the disabilities person on campus, yet gives me attitude when I don’t help him/her out. Huh?
    5. Student who leaves book bag in our room instead of taking it with him/her while he/she goes to lunch. Are we students’ lockers now? Um, no.
    6. Student who brought his/her mother to our advising time.
    7. Student who used attractiveness to get my attention.
    8. Student who didn’t log into eCompanion to see his/her grade for fear of “jinxing” it. Yeah, he/she failed. CHECK YOUR GRADE!
    9. Student who, instead of citing his/her source in the paper, just put a hypertext link stating: Click here. Um, no. That will not be happening on my watch.
    10.

    I hope that’s it.
    Remember when I had my first “crier.” That was a long time ago. Now, if anything, I come across arrogance and anger. Yikes.