December 11, 2006

  • It’s difficult to get any really good sleep at the beginning of any semester and, again, at the end of the semester. Only the diffculty now lies in the grading anxiety, the excitement of the holiday season, and the anticipated break from students (because, no offense, we need it right about now – who figured out 16 or 17 weeks was enough? hmph).

    I know I won’t get through half of the stuff I’d like to do over break. That’s a given. But at least I know that and accept it. I used to think I would get my spring classes prepared wonderfully AND have time to read about 5 books. Not so much. I think this break needs to focus as much on my family (I’ll get to see g’pa for the first time since his heart attack) and friends as possible. In fact, I have decided to use my Office Hrs this week (when students will be picking up final grades & assignments) for spring preparation. That way, I can try to relax over break and not have the “I still have to do _____” hanging over my head.

    Speaking of configuring grades… I really need to look into that HTML EZ through UND. I think I signed up last year, but never got around to actually using the dang thing. It would really help out with the adding up of points at the end since it’s got a built-in gradebook feature, I hear. I dislike math (hey, that’s why I am in English) – especially simple math. And lots of it. Luckily, I handed out mid-term grades, so I just have to add up the last half of the semester. For 90+ students. Eeeek.

    Meanwhile, I had a fairly relaxing weekend even with the grading, the shopping, the writing of Christmas cards/newsletters, the wrapping attempts, the last washing of the bug, the naps, and the watching of football.

    p.s. Happy Birthday little Bug! You are 7 today!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *