February 12, 2007

  • Rules were made to be broken, and my students seem to really “get” that rule. It’s too bad, yet it helps me with the grading aspect of the class. Student doesn’t hand in paper on time = I don’t have to grade it. And, once again, this “problem” only pertains to about 20% (or less) of my students, so I should just focus on those who hand in their work on time. I should applaud them.

    And when it comes to rules about other things, like fashion & style, I am beginning to think that fads about anything are just something for magazines to write about. This is IN and that is OUT. Oh really? If something looks good on a person, he/she should just keep wearing it. Unless it’s hideous. Or ghastly (like a sweater with fuzzies on it or jeans that are so destroyed, they are see-through). And the fads really don’t change all that much. If I had a magazine, I would have a section devoted to “those things you thought were OUT are always IN.” Suckers.

    I was starting to believe that my iBook was invisible. She’s 5+ years old, but she showed me a “sign” a few days ago. The screen goes black when it’s leaned back 90 degrees+, so, I guess the rule about getting a new computer every so many years will pertain to my life afterall. I am due for a beautiful iMac desktop anyhow.

    A rule that I break? Celebrating Valentine’s Day with a lot of hoopla.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *