September 12, 2007

  • Lisa: Dad, don’t you think you’re overreacting?
    Homer: Don’t you think you’re *under*reacting?
    Lisa: This conversation is over.
    Homer: This conversation is *under*.
    Lisa: Goodbye.
    Homer: *bad*bye

    I just had to put something funny up today. And I love The Simpsons (Family Guy too, but I don’t know if their conversations/quotes are all that appropriate for a teaching/professional blog).

    So, I spent the last few minutes of this late afternoon hour adding a “Quotes” tab to almost each week in my eCompanion site for English 110. It adds a bit of humor & insight to the list of assignments/Class Blogs/handouts/etc. I found most the quotes at quotegeek.com, but I did venture into “pop culture land” and find a Simpsons quote about Homer detesting how education pushes out braincells with previous knowledge in them… and a Family Guy quote about Meg’s parents not knowing who she is (fits in with the week when I’ll be introducing profiles for Paper 2).

    I was going to attend Mikey Hoeven’s (Governor’s wife) presentation tonight, but I am hitting a wall of exhaustion. And since I’m giving my students bonus for going (and they should be the ones listening to a speech about underaged drinking anyhow), I can just ask them how it went. Sneaky.

    Yep. It’s time to crash and burn. And then gain my fourth wind of the day around 8pm and read some more academic (but fun/interesting) pieces.

Comments (2)

  • I’m not in college this semester but I will be going to NDSU next semester. I’m still not certain which classes I’ll actually be taking yet, though I should get around to that soon so I can be prepared.

    Which high school did you teach at?

    There is no such thing as TMI, for me. I love it when people put in more detail, since I’m always interested and my curiousity is always insatiable.

    I think the best quotes, from Family Guy, come from Stewie and Brian’s conversations; those are also the funniest parts.

  • Thanks so much for this post, really helpful material. site 2 9. Goodness, there’s so much effective information here! LINK site LINK. Goodness, there is a great deal of effective data in this post! 3 9 0. Very effective piece of writing, thanks for your post.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *