September 17, 2007

  • I think I want to present at the GPACW in November… but on what? I mean, I have bits and pieces of a presentation in my head. Those bits are: a) the Pecha Kucha aspect of PPT Presentations (I want to try this out with my presentation – coincides with student’s ADHD?), b) the Reflectiveness of Blogging (since I’ve been responding to Kinsey McKinney’s essay in my head about being the “perfect” teacher with monologues rather than conversations), and c) mixing in how I’ve been using del.icio.us & YouTube (mostly YouTube) in class. I’m remembering that one note from the first week of class that I jotted on my daily to-do-list (they are common with me) - I had students take a pre-test (identifying topic sentences, finding transitions, etc.), and one of ‘em, I spotted this, was looking up the answers online (since we’re in a computer lab). Now, realistically, I guess that was cheating, BUT it made me think of something else I’ve heard – if students don’t know the answer, they do know where to find it. And so, if they know how to access the information, then maybe we should just worry about the skills we must teach them? I think I’d also like the presentation to focus on how it’s cool to be stupid (or appear/sound stupid) in class these days.

    Maybe this should include a look at my blog stats/findings (would have to code some of the current Class Blogs) - that while students lack depth orally, they are writing critically? Is blogging as reflective for students as it is teachers?

    That reminds me: I need to put the post-test on eCompanion. And Allison needs to calculate the statistics for me.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *