April 15, 2008

  • It is really bugging me to read a library book. I like to highlight and write all over my books.
    Ugh.
    Anyhow, the second chapter of Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs, he states that “nobody truly know how they act” (background – he tried out playing The Sims game)… that “most extroverts think they’re introverts” and vice versa for introverts who think they’re extroverts. “Maybe that’s why extroverts won’t shut up (because they always fear they’re not talking enough) while introverts just sit on the couch and do nothing (because they assume everybody is waiting for them to be quiet).” Would an introvert BE a teacher? Can the oldest in a family BE introverted? [Said like Chandler Bing.]

    He then jumps on those who consider themselves “cynical” and even those of us who consider ourselves “creative.” “If you define your personality as creative, it only means you understand what is perceived to be creative by the world at large, so you’re really just following a rote creative template. That’s the opposite of creativity.” I feel torn by these statements. Of course I think I am creative. I like to think that I create stuff that’s different than what’s been created previously. But maybe he’s onto something. To be honest, my head hurts trying to decide whether I agree or not.

    “Everybody is wrong about everything, just about all the time.” What a beautiful generalization, Chuck. Whoa. I mean, I’m the first to claim that I don’t know everything. But, again, I’d like to think I was right at least 25% of the time.

    A few paragraphs later, he mentions that his niece had The Sims game at her house in “rural ND.” Now, at first I was thrilled he mentioned his homeland. Then I thought, “Why do we always gotta prove that we’re ‘civilized’? That we have roads and cars? And technology.” Did he mention ND because for that reason at all? I wonder…

    “What The Sims suggests is that buying things makes people happy because it takes their mind off of being alive. I would think this would actually make them feel worse, but every woman I’ve ever dated seems to disagree.” Now, Chuck. I shop to get away from the daily stresses of everything (students asking me questions, family needed me to this or that, etc.) just like guys have to go hunting from time to time, or fishing. I don’t necessarily need to buy anything to have a “good day of shopping.” Plus, isn’t there something innate in us that wants to gather & hunt things? And, it’s exercise. I’d rather shop than sit on my butt at home and watch Reality TV.

    It looks like the next chapter is actually about Reality TV. Specifically, The Real World. Before I read it, I’d like to note that I haven’t watched a season of that show in a long time. I’d argue that it’s because the show has changed, not me. Remember when it was about racism and love and life? Yea. Now it’s about watching attractive, spoiled kids get drunk and fight.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *