June 24, 2008

  • I think I’ve officially done to my body what I’ve done to my brain many times before. Exhausted it beyond belief. I feel like I used to feel after the first week of tennis practice back in the day. Sore, sore, sore. But I’d rather be sore than not sore/not exercising, so… plus, when one is sore, they know they did something to some muscle that hadn’t been done in awhile. If I have to have sore quads and hamstrings for the rest of my life, so be it. Let’s just say interval training is kicking my butt.

    And so I go from high intensity out on the bike or on the running paths, to sitting atop my exercise ball on the internet/computer dinking around for too much of the day. I’m starting to feel like I need to take a break from sitting in front of that thing/this thing (even thought that iMac is so cute). I’m addicted to checking my email or getting on Facebook. Daily. I mean, yes, I should check in on my students, but I should be doing summer things too. I should be conducting more blog research. I should be out on my balcony taking in the lovely afternoon w/a book.

    I finished the second Chelsea Handler book; I laughed out loud many times. It was the perfect bedtime book; I’d read a chapter or two, and then fall asleep with a smile on my face. Now I need to move on. I’ve been doing better than expected with my reading this summer (in comparison to last)… I’ve gotten through Klosterman’s book, two of Chelsea’s, got back into Ken Bain’s for a chapter, and dabbled in some philosophy books one day. If I could just get into that pile of Deb Tannen books during the day, I could read Rushdie at night. Yes, I have piles of both authors; they are an odd combination, aren’t they? For some reason, though, I feel like reading all sorts of different authors and books this summer. Those Tannen/Rushdie piles will be there forever. I still have a biography about Madonna that I haven’t gotten to or any of those odd books I “stole” from Errol. Huh.

    Well, I feel like a trip to the library is in order… and then it’s lunch and reading time for this camper.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *