July 31, 2008

  • Tennis balls, bouncing around in the brain…

    Tennis ball #1:
    Another oddity I find with marriage came to me last night. So, we’re supposed to want to get married (at least, that’s how girls are raised), yet those who are married (from what I’ve gathered from 70-90% of the married couples I know) don’t advertise it well. It’s sort of how I look at my bug. I wanted a VW bug BADLY when they came out again in ’98. Within the first months of my first teaching job, I saved up money for a down-payment and by Christmas of ’99, I had her. I was elated. For many years after, I still was. However, she has endured her share of crazy problems. The freakin’ air bag light comes on all the time for the passenger side (I’ve started to think that it’s good luck when it comes on), the alternator went out on me, the motor mount, a massive pigeon who smashed up the rear-view mirror on the passenger side, the bike rack got sucked off by a car wash mechanism. Now, when people ask me about my bug (her mileage, the drive, etc.), I am upbeat. I LOVE THAT CAR, but I also don’t advertise the problems I’ve had which is, yes, misleading to a point, but would I have purchased her anyhow? Yes. So, I guess, what I am saying is that those who are married, and want other singles to get married, are doing a crappy job of advertising because they are listing the problems. Sure, I know that problems exist in EVERY SINGLE RELATIONSHIP ON THIS EARTH… friendships too. But, geez, some of them fight in public only months after getting hitched. Some have screamed at me, in the middle of a fight, “Don’t get married!” Yikeys. People have hollered at my sisters & I for fighting openly in public about stupid things, but I’m not supposed to scold couples who do it!? That makes no sense. At least our sisterly fights are funny.

    Tennis ball #2:
    My summer list. Remember how I wanted to acoomplish a lot of it… yea, ooopsie. I think I blogged about how I accomplished a big chunk of the list early on (the Marathon Relay, sewing, cleaning closet, etc.), so I think I had it in my head that I didn’t have much left. Once again, I didn’t get to my dang pile of Rushdie books this summer. Among other things… when I get back from helping Anne today, I think I’ll have to reassess that list and incoporate some of it into the next two weeks if not this semester (for example, I could read Rushdie on my own if World Lit is a no-go due to low enrollment). Oddly enough, I did the same thing as last summer – spent more time daily working out rather than reading. Sheesh.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *