October 1, 2008

  • I’m presenting on blogging. Yes. Again. Next week at the Summit conference. While this has got to be like my fifteen millionth time talking about this particular vice of mine, it’s been a while since I’ve presented. At least, it feels that way. The last time was… last fall at GPACW? Wasn’t it?

    Anyhow, I really, REALLY have to sit down and ask myself: WHAT do I want to say about blogging? After six years, WHAT haven’t I covered and how can I cover what I’ve presented on in the past in the most fun/helpful way possible? I think I get about an hour…

    One other thing to consider = Sherman Alexie is presenting some film of his AT THE EXACT SAME TIME that I present, so, really, will I have that many participants? Who knows. I’ll make it as cool a presentation as possible (duh), but that is QUITE the competition, isn’t it?

Comments (6)

  • An hour is a long time to talk about anything.  I’m not even sure I could blog for an hour, much less talk about blogging for an hour.

  • @ordinarybutloud - I could fill an hour with my research alone, but that stuff is a bit boring/dull… I’m hoping to combine pieces of everything I’ve said in other presentations. My background/history with blogging, when/how I use(d) class blogs, my own feeling on blogs, FAQs, etc.

  • oooh, you have to miss sherman alexie? when is the conference and when do you present?  may-haps i can be there.

  • @tokidokiforever - Well, he talks Thursday night but shows off a film Friday afternoon (2pm time slot – same as me). The Summit is in Bismarck; I’ll be there from Wed night (Oct 8) to Friday evening… then my sis-in-law is having a candle party Fri night in Fargo… Monday is another Summit at the Ramada in Fargo regarding the Red River Valley Research Corridor.

    Lots of Summits, man.

  • I did some mentor/mentee work with Sherman Alexie back in like 1999.  He knows how to draw a crowd and say all kind of entertaining and inappropriate things. :)

    What were your previous presentations focused on?  I’d be interested to know!

  • @AreYouThereGodItsMeEmilyC - First the presentations focused on why blogging is awesome, then how it fits into a pedagogy, then I switched over to presenting on punk theory (and how that fits in a composition course), then it was back to blogging and my research (how students don’t write like crap online). Now, I’m trying to take why I blog, why I use class blogs, my past/current/future research, and wrap it all up in a cool/fun package. That’s the short story.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *