November 11, 2008

  • Friend Filters…
    When a request comes in from someone who wants to be my “Friend” on here (yes, Xanga has friendships too) as well as Facebook, I have a hard time determining the criteria for declaring said person as a “Friend.” On here, it’s easier than on Facebook because I have oodles of pictures there and other stuff.

    Anyhow, my question o the day is: How do YOU determine who is a “Friend” on Xanga or Facebook or MySpace? And, as a sidenote, how do you determine who gets the “Limited Profile” stamp (meaning they are your “Friend” but with less access)?

    And the other side of the coin, then, is how do they figure out if I am their “Friend”? Last night, I got a little Add as a Friend-request-happy… it’s like JUDGMENT DAY. Will they ACCEPT me? This social networking stuff is like Survivor for Real Life. Or the internet version of those little notes in class: “Do you like me? Check Yes or No.” Part of me doesn’t want to care, but the insecure geek does.

Comments (3)

  • I’m horrible at writing on Xanga. I don’t usually get ANY friend requests, but I guess I look to see if they write any more often then they do. If they do, I usually add them. It’s something else to read — since I love reading.

    I’ve never used the limited profile button before, so I don’t have criteria for that.

  • Everything you utter interferes with my intellect, I meditate thus
    thin wallet | Sudbury airport | Council

  • Wow, there is a great deal of useful data above!
    liked it | check | 2

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *