April 2, 2009

  • I don't think I can do this flying business anymore. I know I know I know that it's more likely that I'll be hurt/die in my car on the highway than get hurt/die in a place crash, but that is so hard for me to believe. Turbulence. I get so nervous, I barely can fall asleep or enjoy my iPod or read a book. Every bump or noise flips me out a wee bit. It sucks, but that's what I have to deal with in me. Yet I STILL go to conferences that I can't drive to. Errrg. My urge to learn overcomes my urge to throw up on a plane? Whatever.

    Started at Fargo's Hector International this morning with an 8am takeoff. From there to Mpls/St. Paul in less than an hour, short layover, and over to Detroit in less than two hours. The layover in Detroit (first time I'd been in that airport - very interesting design) was supposed to be about 2hrs, but it was longer. We got out of there around 4:30 which lead me to dealing with rush hour Toledo, OH traffic. No biggie, but that last flight on a teeny plane while hovering over Lake Erie had me a bit frazzled. Luckily, the Hertz lady gave me a hot little Nissan Xterra to drive around in AND she recognized my town as one that flooded. Very sweet.

    I'm intrigued by this conference. It's many disciplines doing worldy/diversity-based activities in their courses. I'm presenting on my Global Blog Project Saturday (nice time slot right after lunch); a few people who I met in Kalamazoo two summers ago will be here presenting their modules as well. I think it'll be a good time, a good time to get away from slush-filled Wahpeton, yet I'm missing my English/composition-focused conferences. The last one I was at was... huh... in the fall I didn't go to GPACW, so... there was the Arts & Humanities Summit in Bismarck (not strictly for Englishers) and that Red River Valley Corridor conference (based in technology). Yea. I need to recharge my English geek parts soon.

    Oh, and I don't mean to bash lil' Monroe, MI, but MAN are their roads horrible! Like, take Wahpeton's roads and put 'em in MN - that's the scenery around these parts.