April 4, 2009

  • One of my most important entries...

    I will openly admit that I have underestimated this conference/trip.

    I mean, hell, I didn't even want to come to be completely honest. I wanted to stay close to home for various reasons: 1) the flood, 2) getting father along in school after too many days off, 3) the UND Writer's conference hosted Klosterman!, and 4) Dream$ Auction with my family (and the ability to eat the culinary students' food). But with all those reasons behind me now, it dawned on me tonight in my return trip to the hotel how necessary it was for me to come. It also dawned on me how much fun it is to drive an SUV, but anyhow...

    THE PEOPLE. First off, I have met additional cool professors from Macomb Community College; I didn't think there could be more of 'em beyond Joe and Danielle, but what do I know? Secondly, I met some funky faculty (including the cutest couple, Hi to Sam & Sandy!) from Schoolcraft Community College. In addition, there were others, like the guy who grabbed me as I went to my rental in the parking lot to tell me about his activity in class dealing with "filthy" words; he had heard I loved blasphemy and it's definitely an exercise I'm going to try out. I wish I could recall his name... Closky is the last perhaps (I think he was from Kalamazoo CC...)? I'll have to do some research & email him a thank-you. And Cecila from Sinclair CC and the two cute ladies from Columbus CC. And Mary Kaufman. And Rosa-Maria.

    THE GEEK IN ME. So, yea, I don't like to fly. Would rather be drugged, put in a box, and shipped somewhere, but I know fully GET why I go to these things = I feel like I am TRULY me at these conferences. I'm, as some said after my witty presentation, "vivacious" and "mind-popping" which I STRIVE to be everyday (and fail miserably at most of the time). I guess, maybe, I feel like these people GET me. Well, everyone except the other Englisher lady who I blasphemed Shakespeare in front of; she tried to change my mind, but I'm sticking to my guns there, hun.

    THE ECONOMY. Basically, I've witnessed first-hand now how the "in the shitter" (excuse my vernacular) Michigan's economy is. It breaks my heart to hear that their unemployment is so dangerously high. Like with the flood, I feel helpless although I did go shopping to do my part to boost anything I could.

    THE PAST. While in one session today, half paying attention, half not, I looked through the MIIIE Newsletter. There, in the middle, was an article written by Roxie (my former officemate & colleague) about her trip last spring to China. Of course I read it and of course it was good. I realized that I missed her, and I missed our good times. That article reminded me to email her and just say hi. Life is too short.

    I know I have more to report about what I learned overall and specifically in each session, but I want to call my sister and get some shut-eye. Watch out ND; I'm back in the state 24hrs from now!

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *