December 28, 2010

  • The Syllabus Quiz (especially on-campus) should not be multiple choice, but short answer-based. I’m thinking specifically of the question: “How long will it take the instructor to grade major projects and papers?” Instead of multiple choice answers ranging from 2 weeks (correct answer) to 5 seconds (yeah, right), I would ask them WHY they think that is placed in the syllabus and WHY it would take 2 weeks. I think that takes them beyond just memorizing a piece of the syllabus; it makes them think of why that’s there and maybe they’ll be more likely to remember and less likely to ask me when a paper will be graded. I’m not superwoman, and they aren’t my only class. It’s not a bitchy move on my part; it’s critical thinking, isn’t it?

    Oh, and another radical thought… I’d like to use the “Dear Me At ___” Letter idea. In fact, maybe I should use it on the second day or third day of classes. Like, write a letter to yourself at the completion of this course. What will you want to have accomplished in the class and outside of the class. It doesn’t have to focus on our course, but the time span of a semester – how much will you change? How much will happen?

    p.s. Eating the Dinosaur is at Leach Public Library (Wahpeton’s library; our campus library is called Mildred Johnson Library); I need to finish I’m Down first… then maybe I could put aside Jenny McCarthy’s until I tackle Eating the Dinosaur and David Sedaris’ new one?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *