March 30, 2011

  • Goosebump-inducing Daydream...

    In my giddiest daydream about how my teaching can affect students, I dream that they see writing as fun and not something they are incapable of. In addition to that, I dream that they find a book, an author, that they look forward to reading every day or every week. In that goosebump-induced dream, I don't even care if they only like to write erotic poetry or read about serial killers or research anarchy. The dream doesn't even include them putting down the Crackberry or logging off Facebook; it's just an addition to their lives. They read The Onion, perhaps, via Facebook and laugh. They read from a slang dictionary to their friends over lunch. It doesn't have to be boring, and it doesn't have to be appropriate. Language and books and writing spans too many genres and generations to limit what I want them to do, love, and learn.

    Just writing that made my day start off ... on a lighter note.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *