December 20, 2006

  • Hopefully, if I get back to town tomorrow with enough time, I will start on the creation of a PPT to introduce the different parts/units of controversy I want to focus on (moving from personal controversies to worldy ones and then wrapping them all up with language controversies)… I am thinking of finding many images of personal controversies (religion, vices like smoking & gambling & tanning, etc) to people in the media who are considered controversial (Madonna, Bush, etc) to media controversies (from how not a lot of diversity is found in, say, Gap ads to how there are certain commercials for men and others for women, etc) and then end with how our language is controversial (I think that really wraps them personally with the world).

    I’ll be able to use this PPT in physical classrooms too.

    Now, if I use that for the first unit (first week, essentially) I am wondering what to do the second week… I may have them rewatch it and add more to each section? Make them find images of these controversies? Something like that… Or maybe I should move that PPT to the second week and use my personal PPT (I created a sample PPT Project for the English 110 class) and make that more about how I am controversial since I think the Class Blog question for the first week is to write about how they are controversial… Hmph.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *