August 10, 2007

Comments (4)

  • Free speech doesn’t mean you can say anything you want. You can’t say things that are false, that are defamatory, and/or that injure others. You can’t yell “fire” in a crowded theater, for example, if there’s not really a fire because (a) it’s false and (b) people might get trampled to death. A newspaper could be sued for libel for printing defamatory, false content; a speaker could be sued for slander if they falsely defamed you. Libel laws can be applied to blogs because they’re published. The person can be sued only if what they’re saying is untrue AND damaging to your reputation. That doesn’t interfere with free speech at all.

  • Thank you for your input, yet…

    What’s the difference between someone’s opinion & stating something that is “damaging to [my] reputation”? Example: ratemyprofessor.com has comments from students that are damaging to my reputation, yet they are students’ opinions (anonymous ones at that). That isn’t a blog, but it’s a piece of information “out there” that is linked to me (popped up on Google).

  • I found myself doing a google search. Not a good thing, as I am such a rabid right winger, trying to make a living in sales in a very left wing city. I also ran into some over the top mean words about me.

    Warming do not google yourself unless you have very thick skin.

  • My search results weren’t so bad.
    I can handle the ratemyprofessors comments since, well, it was just two students out of the 100s I’ve had… and the only other “bad” thing I found was a blog entry from an acquaintance I know about how I argued how to pronounce some literary person’s name.

    Yea, you do need thick skin though.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *