September 7, 2007

  • Someone’s got to stop me.

    Yesterday afternoon, I went through files on my computer… organizing them into folders. Eeeeek. You mean, by doing this, I’ll actually FIND stuff easier? No way. And I can see the top of my desk these days. The tides are turning, friends, the tides are turning.

    Then, I dug through some books at home and found a book, The Writer’s Eye: Composition in the Multimedia Age, and discovered a terrific new idea for the Paper 1: Memoir in English 110 = a MEDIA MEMOIR. Yea. And the book even has little activities (group and individual) that get students thinking about how media has impacted their lives. So, it’s a memoir of media memories… cool, eh? I thought so too.

    And from that discovery, I realized that I want to bring back “The Stretch Project” as Paper 2. AND (yes, I was on a roll, sorta) then I thought of how students could take Papers and revise them into another genre for the activity that follows the Paper. As a way for them to 1) understand genres, 2) learn how revision works even more so when switching from one genre to another, and 3) gain extra points if they don’t do so hot on the Paper itself. Now, because of this idea, I may have to scrap the Minute Paper of Corrections, but I do like to use that for Paper 1 at least… I’ll have to roll that idea around some more (the deletion of the MPC, that is).

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *