September 11, 2007

  • These “What Works For Me” sections in the TETYC (Teaching English in the Two-Year College) are wonderful. I’ve only read two (from two editions), and, already, I have a handful of ideas to use! Even with my writing conferences coming up next week!

    > Apostrophobia: This will be an extra Geeky Knowledge Lesson handout & activity.
    > First Days: Instead of having the students introduce themselves and then I stumble through the syllabus, this idea combines those activities by having students get in groups right away and come up with 5 of their own questions (less talking for me!)
    > Conference Tickets: “Leading up to the days we have conferences I make the requirement clear to my students: you must bring a completed conference ticket in order to meet with me. Failure to complete the ticket – a preprinted sheet of paper distributed in class – results in a cancelled conference.”
    > Student Excuses: Essentially, students have to write up a narrative about their excuse and the class has to be persuaded to let them make up missed work.
    > Grammar Games: Yet another extra GKL using the Eight Parts of Speech (put so many words of each part on the board – the group with the most sentences made out of those words wins).
    > Parody & Poetry: Students take a poem (or song) and create a parody of it, using, as closely as possible, the same form.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *