January 16, 2009

  • The first week of classes has almost come to a close. As of right now, I feel like it has gone better than the fall’s first week (getting students on eCompanion, how to introduce my new theme in English 110, attendance, attitudes, my attitude, etc.), so maybe I’m slowly getting a “hold” on how I want to “run things”? It’s possible. I’ve been at this for ten years now (and a student said to that, “And how old are you?”); I should know some stuff.

    And speaking of getting students on eCompanion… yea. I gave out instructional guides (very brief instructions on how to get on, what to use as a login/password, etc.); as it turns out, almost no one read them. One class in particular had a handful of students who stayed after our lecture/activities for me to verbally give them the instructions. Had they read my handout? No. Again, not all students had failed to read, but I frowned a wee bit when I got asked, “So, what do I do?” and they weren’t even on the NDSCS homepage or the NDSCS online homepage.

    They’ll read a zillion text messages… hundreds of websites and Facebook wall posts, but one handout from me gets no attention. Errrrggggg. I guess I should text them my instructions?

Comments (2)

  • LOL  There are two approaches I can come up with.  One is sarcastic, the other is VERY sarcastic!  (Side random thought:  I could be in a girl-band… we could be Cher and the Sarcastics!)

    1.  Send them a text message: ”2 get on2 eCmpnyn… rd tht ppr thng she gv U”

    2.  Say, “You’re right, this is really complicated, it would be nice if someone would just write all the directions out so you could just go through step-by-step…  oh wait… I DID!”

    Sorry I don’t have more concrete advice, but I like mine!  LOL

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *