May 3, 2009

  • cook⋅ing [kook-ing] –noun


    1. the act of a person or thing that cooks.
    2. the art or practice of preparing food; cookery.

    3.        throwing random things into a crockpot, then waiting to see what happens.

    See, kids, definitions DO change... or rather, evolve. Whatever. If definitions don't change, then "gay" would still mean "happy" and all those homophobes would be pointing at others, calling them "happy" which just isn't the case. And, yea, one of my students was correct the other day when he said that "retarded" is the new "n-word." I still have many issues with the n-word, but I do feel that retarded has changed. That's a long, drawn-out argument to save for a paper or class discussion. Blog entries, by definition, are supposed to be snippets of love and humor, right? [In that case, I think my last few entries of brainstorming = FAIL.]

    Okay, so with that intellectual paragraph out of the way, it occurred to me last night that one can gauge a lot about an evening by how often he/she is in the restroom. Case in point, I had lovely company/conversation last night, so I had no reason to hide in the restroom. Also, I did not drink myself into oblivion (like some people tend to do; that's my definition of "retarded" by the way), so I wasn't in there "talking to the dinosaurs" nor was I ridding the bladder of toxins. Once, a friend of mine made like three new best friends in one evening via restroom conversations; it made me wonder (all Carrie Bradshaw-like) if the people she was with, then, were really all that grand or if she'd simply purchased her body weight in vodka that night. I definitely think I am onto something here.

    Oddly enough, this blog entry sounds Chuck Klosterman-ish and my English 120 students just handed in their "Chuck Arguments: Project #5" last night at midnight. It's a new project; they'll be interesting to read.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *