January 5, 2011

  • Boot Camp Winter 2011.

      So, I sent off my English 110 syllabus to be printed yesterday. Then, today was the first day to our Winter 2011 Technology Boot Camp. I proposed to create a video about Peer Review. Originally, my plan was to create a tutorial, but after chatting with my department chair ("The Dude"/Wade), we moved the video towards a message rather than a straight-up tutorial that'll lose students in 30seconds. He had some say since he was my Tech-Partner-In-Crime; I also didn't want to create something boring. So, intermingled with finishing up my English 120 syllabus (on-campus version), I taped some skits to be used in the video. I didn't use the Flip Mino HD digital camcorder pictured above; instead, we got those as gifts for participation. I think they are definitely cooler than a t-shirt! (Oh, and our Flips are black with the NDSCS logo...) I have a few more pieces to tape tonight; I plan to tape an interview/skit with some other people tomorrow morning before jumping into editing in the afternoon. We wrap up our Boot Camp Friday with a lunch and "show&tell" session.

    This weekend will be a combination of "apartment cleaning" and "office cleaning" meaning that I need to clean my apartment and do laundry. I also need to clean up the office; I really need to go through all the bags and stacks of STUFF to make sure I'm incorporating the cool things I wanted to incorporate this semester. Said bags reside in my office on campus and at home. Hmph.

    My syllabi this time around are V E R Y  L O N G and VERY PACKED full of stuff. Both tip the copier scale at 16 and 17 pages long (okay, 8ish once they are double-sided), but they have the necessities, and I think I'll have less to hand out in the first few weeks since the bulky syllabi have the basic things right off the bat that I would've handed out alone anyhow. That was a really long sentence.

    Tomorrow... into Friday and the Weekend:
    + Tape more clips/skits/interviews for Peer Review video. [THURS]
    + Edit video w/Wade's help. [THURS]
    + Revise English 120 Online shell w/new datese & add new syllabus. [FRI]
    + Start to go through my delicious site for things to use in spring's courses. [FRI]
    + Start to go through my Klondike Bar folder on office computer for things to use in spring's courses. [FRI]
    + Clean apt and do laundry. [SAT&SUN]
    + Go through bags, etc. in apartment & sort things to bring to office, etc. [SAT&SUN]