March 7, 2011

  • Students as Horses? A Theory...

    And sometimes, the horse is going to give up on you. It's okay. We just have to "roll with the punches."
    After my 9am class, I chatted it up with my department chair for a wee bit. The two questions that popped up were: "How flexible do we need to be this week?" and "How accessible do we need to be, in general." The two days I detest every semester are Hunting Friday and this upcoming Friday, the one before Spring Break. Hey, if students want to leave early, so be it. If their parents "bought their plane tickets for Wednesday," oh well. If they want to start their week-long hibernation Thursday night, that's their choice. All I ask is that they just take the loss in points for whatever they miss instead of asking me to teach them Friday's stuff on Monday or Wednesday. Friday's stuff is for Friday. If I give everyone the Friday stuff early, no one will show up Friday. We have stuff on designated days; that's how this works... last time I checked.

    Anyhow, I need a list. Don't we all?
    Today, I'd like to send off the minutes and agenda for the upcoming Wellness meeting (Wednesday) and then create my World Literature posters (and shoot them over to the Copy Center), so Amanda can put 'em up tomorrow.
    I probably should make a list of things to assess this week too:
    ___ P2 paper, English 110, two classes (about 40? total to assess)
    ___ Online English 120 assignments from last week, two classes
    ___ Online English 120 email about sending me their P2 drafts for extra feedback...
    _x_ On-campus English 120 email about what to do this week during conferences.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *