February 25, 2013

  • *insert swear words*

    How on earth am I supposed to change my students?

    Not ONLY am I attempting to improve their reading and writing skills, but today I realized I have yet ANOTHER "challenge" or "task" or "something like those words."
    Changing their racist & homophobic attitudes and ideas.
    Yes, racist and homophobic remarks have always popped up my classrooms verbally. Like ugly bubbles in a glass of Diet Coke. 
    But now they are showing up in student papers. 
    I guess I should put a clause into every projects' instructional guide? = "No homophobic language or racist language allowed. Don't even try it." Because YA KNOW WHAT? Sure, George Carlin is vulgar. He's got F-bombs shooting out of him like fireworks on July 4th, but swear words don't mean much when they are just thrown into the air. 
    Example: If I walked into a classroom, and just said the f-word. That's it. Just "F**k." Students might giggle, but that's it. If I said "F*g" or the n-word. By itself. Nothing else. Someone could easily get hurt by that, and I know some students would say that PEOPLE GET OFFENDED by everything, but they have a REASON to get offended by the latter words I brought up and not the former. I guess this is my opinion, but no one is set apart from another with the f-word. In a classroom of mixed religions and races and backgrounds, the f-word could offend the uber religious, maybe, but only because they don't like it not because they identify with the word, like the other words I've mentioned.
    So, yeah, I'm a weirdo. I don't care if I hear the f-bomb in class (as long as it's not used WITH other derogatory words, of course), but I can not deal with the n-word or anything derogatory towards other races and sexualities. Ugh ugh ugh.

Comments (1)

  • These days it is very hard to offend people with swear words and very easy to do it with racial comments or words that can be thought of as insulting homosexuals. In the past to shock people, you I would have said "fuck you". Now to be just as classless and offense I need to say "You fucking pedophilic dike" . Its all B.S but with the acceptance of mass vulgarity in creative in writing or even just conversation. This is what we get. Cheap efforts to shock now take greater effort. You need to actually say something that is truly vile now.

    I feel dirty even writing what I did to make the example. My momma was rather hard on potty mouths

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment