March 5, 2013

  • Update.

    Surgery Friday: Went well. I got really, really nervous for nothing. Very little pain now (thanks to hydrodocone although I'm taking less & less of it). Got to hospital at 5am, went under around 7, surgery from 8-11, came out of it all at about noon... my sis visited from 5-6:30pm & the bf was with me almost the whole time.

    Saturday: Home to rest. Hospital bill should be interesting; most is covered (80%?) but still... Had a decent breakfast & El Toro soup once we got home.

    Sunday: Rest. Lots of short naps. Watched Airplane. The bf made pork chops, taters, & corn = good stuff. I think he got me DQ later that night. He noticed I looked super pooped after our pork chop lunch...

    Monday, yesterday: One big nap at about 3:30 (until almost 6?) after hitting salon (a hair stylist washed, dried, & styled my hair for me due to my limited arm movements) & eating fish sammies w/bf from BK. He got me a shake, too! Pre-salon, I took a shower. That went better than expected, too. I had a dream about eating Lucky Charms so he got me some for dinner. :) I've been well taken care of by him!

    Tuesday, today: This is my usual grading day on campus, so I'm trying to keep up with that habit. I've assessed some things in the Eng120 Online course already. I was up at 6am compared to about 8am yesterday, so my nap may come earlier? I'm trying not to "be a hero" and not rest or take drugs when I need them. I do want to heal & use this "time off" wisely! If I could be just taking ibuprophen w/a cat nap next week, that'd be awesome, of course!

    Wed, tomorrow: We may do our taxes; I bought TurboTax awhile back & I'm using my return for the surgery $ anyhow. My parents return from AZ.
    Thurs: Post-op in Fargo that morning. We may go get sushi somewhere & just walk around at a few stores to see how much energy that takes from me (and if any major pain occurs).
    Fri: The girls I call friends on campus may come over & visit me?

    Okay. Back to grading. I wonder if I should leave my on-campus grading (gave students online assignments for March1-8) for next week; I could just knock all that grading out of the park on Tues or Wed. I should watch another movie today or start on a new book! I finished the one below already.

    p.s. Last year, at about this time, we were on our way, or already in, NYC! That was a fun trip!
    p.p.s. I gotta say it's a bit "sad" that it took a surgery to get me to slow down. Oh well. I'm a go-getter, and that's okay.

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment