In the process of putting together a sample assignment for my World Literature class, I came across a Prezi of Anton Chekhov.
November 14, 2012
-
Nerd Alert!
So, I "googled" him and found the quotes that I really "dig":
November 13, 2012
-
Hell, No, H20.
But, instead, I mean YES.
Yes to all this water I have been putting into my body. As of Friday, Nov. 9, I have not had pop or coffee. Just water. Well, water in addition to my meals. I'm trying something new. And thus far, I feel great. I'm not super hungry even though, just today, I've only had breakfast (2 eggs + slice of summer sausage + cheddar cheese) & a snack (cheese stick)... right now, I'm munching on some Texas Trash (nuts + pretzel/chex mix), but I went from about 8am until noon without a major need for FOOD like I normally do.I have a feeling that if I can stick with this, I will lose some pounds, gain some confidence, lessen my stomach issues, and possibly save some money.In case anyone was wondering, here are the changes I have started to implement (started this weekend on Saturday because I was like, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH):--- No more pop or coffee, but I'm not going to get down on myself if I need a cup of jo once in awhile because those are just coffee beans. I'll try to drink it black, too.--- Water everyday. As much as I am thirsty for. I craved a glass of it this morning when I woke up which was kind of shocking.--- More protein & veggies at every meal. I am not cutting out fast food completely (because a hamburger without the bun at McD's is better than a donut, in my eyes) nor am I cutting out fried foods. Now that we have a Holland grill, I don't foresee me having to eat fried or fast food a lot anyhow, but in my last batches of food journals, the fast food thing was daily & I don't like that.--- Eating less, servings-wise, at each meal. I simply will give myself smaller servings to start with OR at least wait in between servings. I noticed Sunday that when I waited in between servings, I wasn't starving for the second.--- No eating past 7pm if at all possible. Sometimes, the bf & I eat later in the night because of his work schedule, so it may happen, but if it does, I hope I just satisfy my taste buds with protein & veggies. No sugar.--- Less sugar and white flour and processed stuff (like those frozen meals).In the future, I'd like to throw exercise in the mix, but right now, I want to focus on my eating since that is 85% of getting healthier. I may sign up for a water class in the spring since IF my sister and I plan to do the half marathon in May, I would like to incorporate swimming with strength training ... along with the runs.Thus far, no headaches or weird cravings for sugar... I'm kind of weirded out by it.
November 9, 2012
-
A Nation of Compromise?
It probably should NOT shock me that not EVERYONE around me is as liberal as I am. Yes, I like the results of Tuesday's election; yes, I think he was doing the best he could with the last four years (given the state of the economy + the fighting with Congress to pass anything, etc.). So, when I didn't see anything offensive the day after in my Facebook newsfeed, I figured everyone else felt like I did - elated & excited & ready to see what will happen in his next four years. Well, I think I accidentally, or perhaps PURPOSELY, hid a lot of my conservative "friends" on FB. Why did I come to that conclusion? Because today I visited a cousin's FB wall in order to send her a message about getting another cousin's address. Her & her sister (and sister-in-law?) were semi-complaining about the results of the election - not in a heated way, but I thought, "Really? My female cousins wanted the OTHER guy in there?" It was a bit strange. For one, the one cousin is very much a free-thinker; she has pretty much done what she wanted in life, and right now, doesn't have a "job-job" but has a farm (I guess) with her hubby and does other creative things. I didn't peg her for being conservative based on those things... which is possibly just my own strange judgment of people. I guess it's tough for me to completely understand why women voted for that OTHER guy anyhow, but at least I'm trying to understand and not blowing the possibility off totally.My parents recently headed down to visit that side of the family; I didn't go with for a variety of reasons, but one was that when I'm around them (and, yes, this is true for the OTHER side of the family, too, and even my significant other's family = sheesh, maybe it's ME? Na.), I can't say much about ... anything. I'm very liberal, and they are not. They don't ask me about my job, and I don't bring it up. This is a very strange thing for me to say, and maybe I will sound prissy & entitled, but the higher one's education level gets, the less one has in common with those who did not seek out TONS of education. We talked about this in a few graduate-level classes. Like when we discussed gendered language...Anyhow, my hope for my family and for the nation is that we can put aside these judgments we have and compromise. I'm not right, you're not right, but let's find a middle ground somewhere.
November 8, 2012
-
Election, Baby.
Election Results Prezi on Prezi
Why, yes, it's two of my favorite things together. The election results AND Prezi!
November 7, 2012
November 2, 2012
-
The following screenshot is from: http://kerrimaniscalco.com/category/humor/page/2/
October 30, 2012
October 29, 2012
-
Want A Sample?
I wonder if the fact that I make previous student samples available to current students - these are papers/projects that earned As & are found in our online classroom platform in the Document Sharing folders - is killing their creativity. They rely too much on them, possibly. A student today wanted to see a sample P4 project even though the student had the list of requirements. And, in the past, my online students have asked for samples for P6 which is the final portfolio (nicknamed the shortfolio due to its length); they, too, have the requirements in front of them.
It's really strange, somehow. Am I making it all too easy at first? And then when I give them something without samples, they aren't prepared to think on their own? -
Flipping It Off.
#flippedclassroom #flippedclassSo, I've been wrestling with the idea of how an English class - composition to be specific - could be turned into a flipped classroom. If you aren't familiar with this term, it means to have the lectures happen outside of the class and before it's discussed in class. I think I could find videos for students to view - and I could create my own - on the topics we'll be covering, yet I wonder many, MANY things.
Would it work, obviously?How much upfront work would I have to do?Is it too much like an online course, then?The students are already supposed to READ, for example, George Carlin outside of class and be ready to chat about him if that's what we do in class. And even though we rarely do that, it is even more rare that students read beforehand... so would they in a flipped classroom? I mean, would I have them read and watch a video before class?Is this do-able with students who many not have technology at home?Does it help all learning styles?If my class is already fairly student-based, do I need to incorporate this?
Archives
- February 2014 (1)
- January 2014 (1)
- December 2013 (1)
- September 2013 (4)
- August 2013 (3)
- June 2013 (7)
- May 2013 (5)
- April 2013 (19)
- March 2013 (18)
- February 2013 (19)







Recent Comments